The Roads I Take

We have to drive quite a ways to run errands here in Door County.  The grocery store I like best is twenty miles away; my bank is eleven.   But this week, it is pure delight to make those drives.  I drive slowly down these roads that seem to be almost on fire with color.

road5-1

road3-1Yesterday, it was grey and cloudy, but we drove anyway through the nearby state park to see colors, and those roads did not disappoint.

road-1

ppark-1

These are my roads, my neighborhood.

road1-1road4-1road9-1

 

ephraim-1

The leaves are quickly changing and falling, emptying the trees.  I find myself bracing, just a bit, for the coming cold and dark. But only a little bit. More, I am grateful to live in this place of color, of water, and views that make me slow down, exclaim, wonder, pray, and smile.

6 thoughts on “The Roads I Take

  1. You have an amazing gift for taking absolutely beautiful pictures, Ann H!!!
    I feel as you do about the wonderful county we live in and celebrate.
    I think you need to work on a photo journal of Door County for coffee tables.
    Maybe with poetry too!!
    xoxoxo dee 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

